

History of the Philatelic Society of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania By James L. Knipe

In the early months of 1938 Robert Ruppin, attorney-at-law, Lancaster, sent out letters to all philatelist throughout the county, particularly members of the American Philatelic Society, as a gesture to determine whether or not an A.P.S. chapter could be formed in this community. Several preliminary meetings were held and finally on May 20, 1938 in the law office of Mr. Ruppin, Room No. 514, Fulton National Bank Building, Lancaster, the Philatelic Society of Lancaster County was formally organized. One of the first acts was to file an application for membership in the American Philatelic Society. On August 1, 1938 the society became the James Buchanan Chapter No. 173 of the American Philatelic Society.

From its inception the Society has made an effort to attract members of the highest type so that the membership would always be a body of mature men and women of high character, all interested in actively promoting the interest and welfare of philately. At first membership required the attainment of one's majority, but after two years the age minimum was reduced to eighteen.

The Society got started with a charter membership of twenty-four persons. Growth has been very slow from the beginning and during the war years beginning in 1940 the membership receded to a few less than the original number, but there is every indication that much of this was due to the rationing of gasoline and the many activities demanding one's time during national trouble.

The bylaws of the Society call for six officers; President, Vice-president, Secretary, Treasurer, Sales manager, and (an) American Philatelic Society representative. The following officers have served the Society from its inception to date:

- For the term May 20, 1938 to November 27, 1939:
 - o Robert Ruppin, President;
 - o V.W.Voris,* Vice-President;
 - o Rollin L. Charles, Secretary;
 - o James L. Knipe, Treasurer;
 - o Robert H. Goodell, Sales Manager; and
 - o J. Andrew Frantz, A.P.S. Representative.
- For the term November 27, 1939 to October 20, 1940:
 - o Rollin L. Charles, President;
 - o James L. Knipe, Vice-President;
 - o Edgar W. Worrest, Secretary;
 - o Richard L. Singley, Treasurer;
 - o Robert H. Goodell, Sales Manager; and
 - o Owen Hershey, A.P.S. Representative
- For the term October 20, 1940 to October 23, 1941:
 - o J. Andrew Frantz, President;
 - o Robert H. Goodell, Vice-President;
 - o Edgar W. Worrest, Secretary;
 - o Richard L. Singley, Treasurer;
 - o Donald B. Witmer*, Sales Manager; and
 - o Robert Ruppin, A.P.S. Representative



- For the term October 23, 1941 to December 31, 1942:
 - o Robert H. Goodell, President;
 - o Richard L. Singley, Vice-President;
 - Mabel Ruppin*, Secretary;
 - Robert Ruppin*, Treasurer;
 - o Albert F. Witmer, Sales Manager; and
 - o James L. Knipe, A.P.S. Representative
- For the 1943 term:
 - o Robert H. Goodell, President;
 - o Richard L. Singley, Vice-President;
 - o Edgar W. Worrest, Secretary;
 - o James L. Knipe, Treasurer;
 - o Albert F. Witmer, Sales Manager; and
 - o J. Andrew Frantz, A.P.S. Representative
- For the 1944 term:
 - o James L. Knipe, President;
 - o Edgar Charles, Vice-President;
 - o Edgar W. Worrest, Secretary;
 - o Albert F. Witmer, Treasurer;
 - o J. Andrew Frantz, Sales Manager; and
 - o A.R. Gerhart, A.P.S. Representative
- Officers for the 1945 term are:
 - o Edgar W. Worrest, President;
 - o Albert F. Witmer, Vice-President;
 - o Mrs. Edgar W. Worrest, Secretary;
 - o James L. Knipe, Treasurer;
 - o J. Andrew Frantz, Sales Manager; and
 - o J. Andrew Frantz, A.P.S. Representative

Note: * *These have since resigned from membership in the Society.*

Monthly meetings were held until 1942 when gasoline rationing and war activities made it impossible to hold meetings at such frequent intervals. During 1943, meetings were held quarterly, and in 1944 the monthly schedule was again adopted, eliminating the summer months. The meetings have always abounded in a variety of interesting philatelic subjects interspersed with a few picnics or purely social gatherings, a good example of which was our entertainment at Norwood Farms in the lower end of the County by John Andrews, and the well-known "October" meetings chez Andy Frantz. From time to time the leading speakers on philatelic subjects have come to Lancaster to appear before the Society. Neither the educational nor social side has been neglected. Several times during the year auctions are held and when they are the opportunity to attend them is usually extended to persons other than members of the Society.

There is a great deal of direct exchange between members, as it is apparent that the society of this kind offers limitless opportunities for members to exchange stamps and thus add to their collections.



The Society is proud of the fact that it has among its members philatelists of international reputation. Robert Ruppin, who discontinued practicing law in 1942 to transfer his Robert Fulton Stamp Company to Portland, Maine, has now become a dealer of international reputation. Robert G. Goodell, winner of many blue ribbon prizes, is well known to dealers and publishers as a result of this broad knowledge of the subject. Richard Singley, one of the charter members, has been national president of the American Airmail Society. Dr. Arthur R. Gerhart, usually found on the Board of Judges of many exhibitions, is internationally recognized for his specialized collections of Japan, Heligoland, and broad general knowledge of philately. In addition to these star performers, the Society can boast a membership of good substantial collectors who consistently and conscientiously follow their hobby, as will be observed from the following list of members:

No.	Retain	Name	Address	City	Admitted Date
6	Y	Edgar W. Worrest	R.D. No. 5	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
7		H. Dorn Stewart	938 Pleasure Rd	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
8	Y	J. Andrew Frantz	35 N Lime St	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
9	Y	Robert H. Goodell	921 Helen Ave	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
11		James L. Knipe	1004 Wheatland Ave	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
12		Ralph S. Landis	R.D. No. 6	Lititz	May 20, 1938
13		Owen Hershey	314 Linden St	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
16	Y	Albert F. Witmer	117 E Clay St	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
17		Richard L. Singley	1022 W Ross St	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
22		Henry B. Howell	22 E Walnut St	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
23		C. Howard Witmer	126 E Chestnut St	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
28		George T. Hambright	548 S Ann St	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
29	Y	Mrs. George T. Hambright	548 S Ann St	Lancaster	May 20, 1938
30		Robert W. Gabriel		Quarryville	October 21, 1938
34		Ira G. Hershey	136 N George St	Millersville	February 20, 1939
38	Y	John H. Andrews		Paradise	April 21, 1939
42	Y	Wilson Brubaker	246 E New St	Lancaster	April 1, 1940
44		Wm. J. Harvey	46 N West End Ave	Lancaster	March 20, 1941
45	Y	Edgar Charles	504 Fifth St	Minneapolis, MN	March 20, 1941
46	Y	Ida L. Hostetter	715 N Duke St	Lancaster	June 23, 1941
47	Y	Mrs. Elva K. Staman	538 Chestnut St	Columbia	May 20, 1942
48	Y	Arthur R. Gerhart	1116 Louise Ave	Lancaster	May 20, 1942
49	Y	J. Richard Gaintner	107 Atkins Ave	Lancaster	October 20, 1943
50	Y	Roy W. Donaldson	823 State St	Lancaster	October 20, 1943
51	Y	William F. Taylor	543 N Mary St	Lancaster	October 20, 1943
52	Y	Mrs. Marion S. Walker	144 E Chestnut St	Lancaster	October 20, 1944
53	Y	Richard H. Shopf	77 Spencer Ave	Lancaster	November 20, 1944
54	Y	Rev. Fra D. Lavery		Neffsville	January 19, 1945
55	Y	Mrs. Edgar W. Worrest	R.D. 5	Lancaster	January 19, 1945

Note: All who joined May 20, 1938 are charter members. 29 original members, 18 still hold original membership number. Those members with a Y still retained same number.